Centre for Road Safety

Connecting with communities

Our programs promote safe behaviour and help reduce crashes in Aboriginal communities. Aboriginal people are twice as likely to be killed or injured in a crash compared with non-Aboriginal people.

Through practical safety programs, we improve driver licensing, child car seat use and helmet safety for children. We also promote safety at Aboriginal events across NSW and help deliver safer roads for Aboriginal communities.

Delivering the right messages

TfNSW has a wide range of high level campaigns that relate to all members of the community, encouraging everyone to take less risks on the roads and to adopt sensible road safety practices. Some of these campaigns include Towards Zero, Don’t Trust Your Tired Self, and What’s Your Plan B?.

Through  the NITV and Imparja television networks, Aboriginal community radio stations and newspapers, we deliver road safety messages to connect with Aboriginal people. Our overall safety message, 'Bring The Mob Home Safely', is linked to many of our campaigns.

Each year, we support many community events where we promote road safety, driver licensing and Aboriginal employment opportunities.

Interactive crash statistics

Detailed road crash statistics are available in our Aboriginal serious injuries interactive reports, which include information on road users types, age, gender and injury severity.

Our Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People Road Trauma Report, 2005-2015 provides information on safety issues for Aboriginal road users, with a focus on serious injuries and fatalities.



Our Aboriginal Project Officers are based in the following regions:

Greater Sydney

Kayla Elliott
Phone 0438 796 036
Email kayla.elliott@transport.nsw.gov.au

South Region (includes the South Coast from the Wollongong area south to Eden)

Layne Brown
Phone (02) 42532603
Email layne.brown@transport.nsw.gov.au

North Region (includes Port Macquarie, north to the border and inland to Gunnedah)

Iesha Timmins
(02) 6640 2880
Email  iesha.timmins@transport.nsw.gov.au

West Region (includes Lithgow, north to Moree, west to Tibooburra and Broken Hill)

Mark Hartwig
(02) 6861 1657

South Region (includes Young, Yass and south to the border, west past Hay and Balranald)

Rodney Simpson
(02) 6923 6506
Email rodney.simpson@transport.nsw.gov.au

North Region (includes Gosford north to Taree, inland past Scone and Cessnock)

Brendan Jensen
(02) 9462 6119